Date of Award

Spring 5-10-2023

Author's School

Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts

Author's Department

Graduate School of Art

Degree Name

Master of Fine Arts (MFA) in Visual Art

Degree Type



I create paintings, sculptures, and rubbings to pay tribute to the earthly beings found within my immediate surroundings. I use indexical processes that stain, trace, and record to preserve a moment in time. The process of rubbing is a tactile and meticulous activity of excavation. It is an imprint of what was once there, a mapping of attentive contact. The works are dependent upon the physicality of the host as I engage directly with the plants, seeds, weather, and trees that surround me. The rubbing’s flatness actively constructs a new reality; a liminal space hovers between the impression and the real world, creating a sense of something both absent and present.

My work results from an accumulation of physical actions and systems for making. I emphasize touch as a physical tool to slow down our initial visual perception and understanding. It is through the making process that I begin to understand my sentiment for my environments and their complexity. Rather than stepping back to take in monumental vistas, close investigation of our world may give us new insights into understanding nature and our role within it.

This text follows the meandering path of doubt, questioning, and ways of working that I have developed in my recent practice. I examine my relationship to walking as a means for discovery within my surroundings, touch as a tool for connection, and play as a process to express joy. I reference work by Rebecca Solnit that grounds my wonderings towards time, sentiment, and place. I also discuss the work of artists Do Ho Suh, Michelle Stuart, and Ree Morton, among others, as they inspire and relate to my practice.



Program Chair

Lisa Bulawsky

Thesis Text Advisor

Heather Bennett

Thesis Text Advisor

Monika Weiss

Faculty Mentor

Heather Bennett

Committee Member

Lisa Bulawsky

Committee Member

Abigail Flanagen

Committee Member

Amy Hauft

Committee Member

Arnold Nadler