CBAC Seminar Series Videos
Advancements in Implantable Cardioverter Defibrillator Therapy: Focus on Lead Technology and Defibrillation


Advancements in Implantable Cardioverter Defibrillator Therapy: Focus on Lead Technology and Defibrillation


Link to Full Video

Stream Seminar Video


Fall 11-5-2018

Document Type

Seminar Series


Professor of Medicine; Director, Cardiac Electrophysiology & Arrythmia Services; Director, CCEP Fellowship; President-Elect, Heart Rhythm Society

Dr. Russo is Professor of Medicine at Cooper Medical School of Rowan University, Director of Electrophysiology and Arrhythmia Services and Director of the CCEP Fellowship Program at Cooper University Hospital in Camden, N.J. Prior to joining the faculty at Cooper, she was a member of the faculty at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine in Philadelphia, PA from 1997-2008 and was Director of the Electrophysiology Laboratory at Penn Presbyterian Medical Center.

Dr. Russo is currently the President-Elect of the Heart Rhythm Society (HRS), member of the HRS Executive Committee, and member of the HRS Board of Trustees. She is also a member of the AHA Get-With-the-Guidelines Atrial Fibrillation Clinical Work Group, member of the ACC Cardiovascular Disease in Women Committee, and member of the ABMS Continuing Board Certification Commission. She previously served as Chair of the HRS Program Committee, 1st Vice President of HRS, 2nd Vice President of HRS, Abstract Chair of the HRS Program Committee, Treasurer and Secretary of HRS, Chair of the HRS Finance Committee, Chair of the HRS Health Policy Committee, Vice-Chair of the HRS Quality Improvement Subcommittee, Chair of the ACC Best Practice and Quality Improvement (BPQI) Subcommittee, member of the ACC/AHA Task Force on Performance Measures, member of the National Quality Forum (NQF) Cardiovascular Endorsement and Maintenance Steering Committee, member of the ACC Science and Quality Committee, member of the NCDR Research and Publications Committee, and member of the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) Subspecialty Cardiovascular Disease Test Writing Committee. She has also served as co-chair or member on several guideline or consensus document writing groups including Co-Chair of the 2012 HRS/ACCF Expert Consensus Statement on Pacemaker Device and Mode Selection, CoChair of the 2013 ACCF/HRS/AHA/ASE/HFSA/SCAI/SCCT/SCMR Appropriate Use Criteria for Implantable Cardioverter-Defibrillators and Cardiac Resynchronization Therapy, member of the 2017 ACC/AHA/HRS Guideline for the Management of Patients With Supraventricular Tachycardia writing group, member of the 2015 HRS/EHRA/APHRS/SOLAECE Expert Consensus Statement on Optimal Implantable Cardioverter Defibrillator Programming and Testing writing group, and member of the 2017 ACC/HRS Lifelong Learning Statement for Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology Specialists writing group.

Dr. Russo has authored or co-authored numerous peer-reviewed journal articles, abstracts and book chapters. Her areas of particular interest include gender differences in arrhythmias, implantable cardioverter defibrillators, totally subcutaneous devices, atrial fibrillation, and performance improvement activities.

Advancements in Implantable Cardioverter Defibrillator Therapy: Focus on Lead Technology and Defibrillation