Well-Defined Functional Polymers: Synthesis by Living Polymerizations, Functional Group Modifications, and Structural Transfoarmations to Robust Nanoobjects

Date of Award

Summer 8-15-2010

Author's School

Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

Author's Department


Degree Name

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)

Degree Type



This dissertation focuses on the development of synthetic methodologies for the preparation of well-defined macromolecules with various architectures, diverse functionalities, abilities to transform into nanostructures, as well as potential biomedical applications. A variety of functional polymers such as poly(1-alkene-co-maleic anhydride) alternating copolymers, alkenyl-functionalized polymers, pyrrolidinone-functionalized fluoropolymers, hyperbranched iodine-containing polymers, star block copolymers and amphiphilic core-shell brush copolymers were synthesized by using living polymerization techniques, including reversible additionfragmentation chain transfer radical (RAFT) polymerization, atom transfer radical polymerization (ATRP) and ring-opening metathesis polymerization (ROMP) or their combinations. High degree control of polymer molecular weights, topologies and functionalities were achieved based on the synthetic strategies described in this dissertation. The structure-property relationships of these macromolecules were investigated by using a number of characterization methods. Structural transformations of these functional polymers into micelle assemblies, star polymer nanoparticles and amphiphilic cross-linked networks with nanoscale features were demonstrated, and these nanostructures were further studied by microscopic techniques. These functional polymers may have interesting applications in nanomedicine. For example, the hyperbranched iodopolymers and well-defined aqueous iodinated nanoparticles synthesized were investigated as new X-ray contrast media for computed tomography imaging.


English (en)

Chair and Committee

Karen Wooley

Committee Members

John-Stephen A. Taylor, Vladimir Birman, William Buhro, Jacob Schaeger, Samuel Achilefu, Chong Cheng


Permanent URL: https://doi.org/10.7936/K7BC3WG9

This document is currently not available here.